Just for Fun: 12 Truths Found in the Scripts of Mad Men

Mad men is one of my favorite tv shows of all time.  It might be THE favorite (I have a pinterest board devoted to the show!).  I could watch it over and over.  I don’t know how it will end; I’m just sad that it’s going to.  I’d love to watch Sally go thru her 20’s in the 1970’s or see what Peggy is wearing by 1981.  And how long will Pete keep that horrendous comb over?

I’ll never know, even after they broadcast the finale in 2015.  Just like the 60’s, the show has to end.  But apart from the vintage decor and fashion, hilarious antics and social comentary, I will miss the little nuggets of truth spoken by the characters – truth that is not confined to the 1960’s, but universal.  I’ve complied a list of my favorites so far, as I go through my Mad Men withdrawl 🙂  Spring can’t come soon enough – until then, thank goodness for Netflix.

IMG_5160
Betty Draper

My 12 Favorite Truths Found in the Scripts of Mad Men 

“One never knows how loyalty is born.”
– Bertram Cooper

“You need three ingredients for a cocktail. Vodka and Mountain Dew is an emergency.”
– Peggy Olson

“Men don’t take the time to end things. They ignore you until you insist on a declaration of hate.”
– Joan Holloway

“Just cash the checks. You’re gonna die one day.”
– Ted Chaough

“It’s all about what it looks like, isn’t it?”
– Pete Campbell

“Change isn’t good or bad.  It simply is – it can be greeted with terror or joy.”
– Don Draper

“The only thing worse than not getting what you want, is watching someone else get it.”
– Roger Sterling

“Just ’cause you’re sad doesn’t mean everybody has to be.”
– Glen

“People will show you who they are, but we ignore it because we want them to be who we want them to be.”
– Don Draper

“When you don’t have any power, you have to delay things.”
– Betty Draper

“That’s life. One minute, you’re on top of the world. The next, some secretary is running over your foot with a lawn motor.”
– Joan Holloway

“Get out of here and move forward. This never happened. It will shock you how much it never happened.”
– Don Draper

3 thoughts on “Just for Fun: 12 Truths Found in the Scripts of Mad Men

  1. I am constantly watching Mad Men on Netflix! I go the whole way through and restart again… Or I pick and choose favorite episodes. I just love it, and I’m also sad about it ending!

    Honestly, Mad Men is one of my big inspirations in this weight loss journey. I want to be able to wear those adorable vintage clothes and look glamorous instead of like I’m going to a costume party in a vintage-esque sack. Vain? You betcha!

    Also, the Joan and Don moment in the hospital after Lois ran over Guy MacKendrick’s foot is one of my absolute favorite scenes between the two of them… Right up there with the time they test drove the Jaguar.

    1. Alison – obviously, yes, my obsession with Mad Men is intense. I love to put it on in the background when I’m cooking. The clothes are so fun! It’s doesn’t really matter if it’s vain, whatever keeps you motivated – I don’t think there is anything wrong with wanting to look your best 🙂 I have a lot of Mad Men inspired clothes, mostly purchased through Mod Cloth which is my favorite place to shop online – you should check it out! Order an item that will give you something to shoot for! (That totally worked for me!)
      Don and Joan don’t get many scenes (sadly)… but yes, I’d love to see them together more! They compliment each other so well, the scenes in the bar during the Jaguar episode are some of my favorite in the entire series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

