You Can Cook Scrambled Eggs in the Microwave!?

Apparently I’m the last person on earth to discover this – because everyone I have told this to has said “Yeah, I’ve done that before.”  In my defense, my ignorance is for a good reason – I don’t own a microwave.

I do however frequently use a microwave to heat up meals while at work.  So when I discovered that I could make eggs for lunch or a snack in the microwave – I was kinda floored!  This is going to make my life so much easier!  Let me tell you why:  I never know how hungry I’m going to be on any given day.  I try to listen to my body and if I’m hungry, I let myself eat.  This means I usually bring more food to work than I think I’m going to need for one day.  That’s one of the great things about Paleo in my opinion – you aren’t forced to eat a certain amount every day or at every meal.  I look at my food more from week to week, not day to day.  I try to eat a variety of produce and protein sources throughout the week and don’t stress about amounts or types each day.

Every day of life is different, so it makes sense that your food should be too – for example, I go to the gym two or three times per week after work.  I don’t want to go in distracted and hungry.  Some days I’m fine, but some days I need a late afternoon snack to have the best performance at the gym.

I really love eggs.  I eat them a lot because they are full of protein and fat, relatively cheap and you can do so many things with them.  So this microwave revelation is going to change all sorts of things!  Now, I can keep eggs at work for those ‘just in case I’m super hungry’ situations or if I don’t have food prepped.

Think of all the things you could do! Make a breakfast burrito without the tortilla… A BLT type scramble… Eggs with a side of fresh fruit… I mentioned I love eggs, right?

IMG_5143.PNGYou could even have fun with your kids and make Green Eggs and Ham… which is what I made for lunch the other day :). Mix some eggs, avocado or guacamole, leftover ham and a little salt and pepper and you got breakfasts and story time!

Green Eggs and Ham

First, melt a little butter in a dish or coffee cup.  Swirl it around to coat the sides.

Then crack your 2 or 3 eggs into the dish, mix with a fork.  Microwave for 30-45 seconds.  Mix them again, then microwave again 10-20 seconds.

Add in whatever you like – in this case, diced ham and a whole avocado.  Season with salt and pepper.

 

I’m not saying microwaving is the best way to cook eggs, but in some situations, especially if you travel a lot, it could help you stay on track and avoid a lot of unhealthy options!

Leave a Reply

