Broiled Salmon with Capers and Red Onion

I splurged a few weeks ago and bought a fresh salmon filet for dinner.  While I don’t love all kinds of fish, salmon is one I definetly love.  And it’s not cheap, especially fresh, especially when you live in the middle of the great plaines 🙂  Usually when I buy food, especially meat, I am conceptualizing in the store about what I’m going to do with it.  But not this time.  I bought the gorgeous fish and took it home without a plan.  I just wanted some salmon, some fatty, rich delicious fish.  Not a bad craving to have.

I have the world’s smallest grill but I never use it, mostly because it’s charcoal and I’m afraid I’ll burn down my apartment building.  That would suck.  For me and my landlord and my neighbors.  And I didn’t want to bake it because that’s just so… boring.  A good friend suggested I broil it.  Hmmm, a dangerous maneuver.  Usually whenever I broil something, I burn it.  I cannot burn this gorgeous fish!  After much internal debate, I decided I didn’t get here (healthy and happy) by using fear as an excuse to limit my culinary adventures – so broil I would!  I would take broiling by the horns and wrestle it to the ground!

Also, I had a jar of capers in my cupboard that I really needed to open and use.  And half a red onion.  Done.  This is what I came up with.  And I ate the whole fillet.  It was glorious.

IMG_5017.JPGBroiled Salmon with Capers and Red Onion

1 large, fresh salmon fillet (10-12 oz)

3 tbsp capers, drained

3 tbsp red onion, minced

1/2 fresh lemon (you will use the zest as well)

1 tbsp plus 2 tbsp grassfed butter or ghee, divided

Sea Salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

 

Turn on oven to broil setting and place rack 8-10 inches below heating element.

In a cast iron skillet, heat 1 tbsp butter or ghee until melted and bubbly.  Place fillet in the pan, skin side down.  Top with capers, onion, lemon zest and 2 tbsp butter, dividing evenly across fillet.  Season lightly with salt and pepper.

Place skillet directly in oven on pre-set rack.  Cook for approximately 12 minutes with oven door slightly ajar.  Cook time will vary depending on size of filet.  If you are not a seasoned cook (and even if you are), I recommend you stand next to the oven while the fish cooks and keep a close eye on it.  Fish goes from perfect to over cooked in a blink so watch it closely.  The flesh should be firm and slightly flaky.

Remove from oven and let stand 5 minutes before serving.  Season with additional salt and pepper before serving if desired.  Serve with lemon wedge.

Leave a Reply

