Banana Bread + Blueberry Compote = Flippin’ Awesome Paleo French Toast

20140809-133846.jpg
french toast with blueberry compote. bacon. kale & feta frittata. All Paleo!

I recently asked a friend who is trying to make healthier choices what 3 foods she missed the most.  Near the top of her list was French Toast.  You have to have bread to make french toast and if you are going paleo, traditional bread it out!  I told her I would try to find solutions for her cravings and that’s what brought me to this tasty recipie from the Civilized Caveman: Paleo Banana Bread.  This is a serious 5 star paleo recipe.

I’ve made the bread twice in the last two weeks and it’s gotten good reviews from those I’ve shared it with in my office and even a male friend who helped me with some installation around the apartment.  If a dude approves, that’s when I know I’ve found a winner.  The amazing thing about this bread is it’s texture; it actually holds together like regular bread does!  The taste is also just what you expect banana bread to be.  It is mainly eggs and bananas, which means lots of protein and potassium 🙂  It is great warm, straight out of the oven, but it also keeps well in the fridge.  I might start making a loaf each week!

So I had a guest for brunch today and I tried to make a french toast out of this bread.  The results were pretty great!  I made the bread last night – be sure to store it in the fridge.  This morning, I sliced the bread about 3/4 inch thick and it did not fall apart.  I served it with a quick blueberry compote rather than syrup.  The combo of blueberry and banana flavor was a great balance!  If you really want syrup, 100% maple syrup is paleo, just don’t over do it:)

French Toast with Blueberry Compote

For toast:

1 loaf Paleo Banana Bread, sliced 3/4 inch thick
3 eggs
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tbs coconut oil

For compote:

1  1/2 cups fresh blueberries
2 tsp grass-fed butter
2 tbs lemon juice (can substitute water if you got no lemons!)

In a shallow dish, lightly beat the eggs and cinnamon together.  Gently place bread in the dish and coat all sides with egg mixture.  In a sauté pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Be sure to let the pan get HOT, this will give your french toast a crispy (not soggy!) texture.  Add the bread to the pan in a single layer and cook on each side, approx 4 minutes each, until golden brown.  Don’t let your pan get crowded, it’s better to cook it in batches!  Remove from pan and set aside.

In a separate sauté pan, heat butter and lemon juice on medium until bubbly.  Add blueberries.  Let cook until blueberries pop and sauce starts to thicken.  Serve over french toast.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

