Craving Potato Oles? Try this!

20140715-205404.jpg

So if you are from the Midwest, you might know what I’m talking about when I say ‘potato oles’. From Taco Johns. My version, along with the fish, takes about 30 minutes to make but it’s pretty freaking good. Also it’s cheaper and will make you feel good 🙂

Basically, dice up some sweet potatoes, put them in a large bowl, add some oil (coconut, olive, bacon fat, which ever you choose) to lightly coat the potatoes. Then, dump some taco seasoning (I blend my own) in the bowl and toss to coat. I also tossed in some chopped green onion and fresh ground pepper. From there, cook on the stove top or bake until tender. Like I said, not identical to potato oles put super tasty!

I ate these potatoes with ‘White Fish Vera Cruz’, which you can find in the frozen section at trader Joe’s. It has great flavor and takes about 20 minutes to bake – it’s basically fish, seasoning and veggies. Simply and kinda spicy. I had some red cabbage on hand, so I put that under the fish and squeezed a lemon on top when everything was done. Oh, and cilantro. Because I basically put cilantro on everything.

Yes, it tasted as good as I looks. Do you live near a TJ? Would you try these potatoes?

3 thoughts on “Craving Potato Oles? Try this!

  1. Why have I never thought to season sweet potatoes with taco seasoning?! I also make my own taco (and fajita) seasoning and I imagine that the bite of the seasoning helps to counter the sweetness of the yam?!

    Thanks for the idea!

    1. Thanks for your comment Shannon! I kinda felt the same way – why had I never thought of this before!? The seasoning does add a whole new savory element to the sweet potatoes! And in this case, it was a really good balance with the mild flavor of the fish.

Leave a Reply

