Healthy Pizza Casserole You Have to Try!

20140204-155008.jpg

Would you believe me if I told you that was made of cauliflower? For real.

This may be a series of posts, because the ease of these recipes is something I must rave about. Melissa @ ibreatheimhungry.com has given me many food ideas, and she has 3 great versions of this casserole. I have modified each one, trying to add a few more veggies. As she says, there are ENDLESS ways to do this casserole. If you have any suggestions, please let me know! I would love to try them!

There has been a lot of talk about cauliflower pizza crust but in my opinion, this casserole is easier, faster and just as delicious. Totally satisfies a pizza craving too.

I’ll tell you how I’ve doctored mine below:

Pepperoni Cauliflower Casserole

– I left out the cheese in the purée. Instead, I add 1 or 2 chopped green onions (regular works just fine too) And 5 fresh mushrooms in the purée. No need to cook them before, they will bake in the oven – just blend everything together and you’ll forget they are in there. If you aren’t a fan of mushrooms, try green olives. Also amazing.
– I use ghee instead of butter. I do use the cream.
– I added diced tomatoes between the cauliflower and cheese layer. About 2 medium tomatoes for the whole recipe. This makes it more ‘pizza-ish’ for me.
– I add chopped fresh basil, both in the purée and after baking as a garnish. My world is better with basil, yours will be too!

I’ll post my other favorite versions of cauliflower casserole later! For now, if you are craving pizza, skip the takeout and give this a try. It’s perfect winter comfort food!

Leave a Reply

