7 Reasons to Eat Pumpkin + a Drink Recipe

Pumpkins

There is a huge maple tree on my street that’s about 50% red leaves… fall is officially here!  I love fall flavors and pumpkin is one of them – though I used to think it was only edible in pies.  (Boy was I wrong!)  I also didn’t know that pumpkin has tons of nutritional value!  I did some research this week, so here are 7 things to remember the next time you walk past these orange beasts pileed high outside the grocery store…

1) Your Eyes – Crazy amounts of vitamin A, which help your vision.

2) Your Waistline – Lots of fiber; it will help ward off the Hangry for much longer! You know what I’m talking about (hungry/angry fits).

3) Your Skin – The orange color comes from cantenoids, known to reduce wrinkles!

4) Your Muscles – Pumpkin has a ton of potassium – known to prevent cramps.

5) Your Mood – Pumpkin seeds contain tryptophan (like turkey), which helps your body produce serotonin, the original anti-depressent.

6) Price – It’s pretty cheap!  I can usually find a 12 oz can for a dollar.

7) Versatility – It can be a sweet or savory, a dessert or a soup.  I’m even working on an ice cream recipe…

You can read more details about the benefits of pumpkin here and here.

Let me propose an alternative for all you ‘pumpkin spice latte’ lovers out there.  I know this isn’t quite the same, but it will give you way more energy.  Not that I’m anti-coffee.  Not at all.  I enjoy a cup basically every morning, but I’m a purest (extra strong, no sugar, no creamer).  Heck, I’ve drank this recipe with my morning coffee, I’ve even ground up a few expresso beans and put them in the shake.  But I’m getting side tracked – my point is, a quick jump to the Starbucks website will tell you that their famed seasonal favorite has almost no vitamin A (read no actual pumpkin) and a crazy amount (read 50 grams per grande) of sugar… which will give you a headache when it wears off.  Just saying.  Save yourself the headache; step into the light 🙂

The Pumpkin Spice Shake

1/2 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin
1 scoop unflavored whey protein
1 1/2 cups almond milk
1 tsp 100% pure maple syrup (can substitute honey, but it’s not quite the same)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients.  Blend.  Enjoy!

The whey adds 20 grams of protein (or more) to this drink, but if you don’t have any you can still enjoy – just add another 2 tbsp of pumpkin.

4 thoughts on “7 Reasons to Eat Pumpkin + a Drink Recipe

Leave a Reply

