Chorizo, Kale & Sweet Potato Hash

kale sweetpotchorizo w kale sweet potato

While listening to Thursday night college football, I made this for dinner!  Consider this recipe your healthy alternative to a cornbeef hash addiction.  If you have one.  Cuz I do.  No judgement.  I should say I did, because now instead of crazing that stuff from the can, I crave this version.  What can I say – Melissa at I Breathe… I’m Hungry is kinda a genius.  She is not strictly paleo but she offers many great ideas.

When I make this recipe, I leave out the onions and cumin, and use bacon fat instead of olive oil.  I get my chorizo at Whole Foods, they sell it in links at the meat counter, and I just cut it out of the link casing before cooking. In my experience, its the best quality I can find.  And no, it’s not cheap, but when you are bulking it up with all those veggies, you don’t need a lot!

kale strip

Use fresh kale.  Kale is an awesome super food, not to be feared just because it looks like crazy fluffily leaves. You’ll want to cut out the thick stem like this (look over there)… before you dice it up for the hash.  Just run your knife down the sides and snip it off at the top.

The lime is an extra important addition of acid to balance the flavors – don’t skip it!

The dish is very spicy with the chorizo, if you’re sensitive to the spicy stuff you could always try it with an Italian sausage. Like most of my favorite recipes, it’s quick, it’s easy and oh so satisfying.

Yum.  Seriously.

One thought on “Chorizo, Kale & Sweet Potato Hash

Leave a Reply

