Super Quick & Easy Blueberry Dessert

blueberrydessert

So it’s fall – and that means when I think of desserts, I think crisps and crumbles!  I hope to get to a local orchard in the next few weeks for some apples, but something fruity and crunchy and gooey was on my brain last night, especially after the session I put myself thru at the gym (fyi my pull-ups are getting better!)  And there just so happened to be the perfect storm of ingredients that lead to this little creation… blueberries in my fridge that needed to be used in the next few days, and I had left over almond flour from a recipe I made last week… which is basically all I needed to make this paleo approved dessert.

As you may have noticed, I’m not one for crazy complicated recipes – I’m a person, with a real life and so are you!  If it’s not practical, it’s not going to help you… so you may be thinking, “Um… where the heck do I buy almond flour?  Am I going to have to go on some wild goose chase in Whole Foods?”… well, truthfully, I don’t know where you buy it… because I’ve never bought it!  I’ve always made it.  I buy whole, unsalted almonds in bulk and when I need almonds of a different consistency, into my Ninja (super awesome blender/processor) they go.  To get flour, I grind them super fine, until they look like flour.  It takes about 90 seconds.  Not exaggerating.  Anyone can do it – you could use a coffee grinder to achieve the same result!

So the recipe – fool proof and oh so satisfying:

Super Quick and Easy Blueberry Dessert

2 cups fresh blueberries (approximate)

3/4 cup almond flour (approximate)

1 pinch sea salt

2 tbsp honey

Finely ground coconut (optional)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Place the blueberries in a glass baking dish or pie plate.  In a small bowl, combine the flour, salt and honey – you should have a somewhat crumbly mixture.  Pour over the blueberries.  Sprinkle coconut over top (how much is up to you!).  Place in the oven for 20-25 minutes – the blueberries should be soft, near exploding and the almonds should be a ‘toasted’ brown color.  Enjoy!  This makes 2 generous servings!

One thought on “Super Quick & Easy Blueberry Dessert

Leave a Reply

