Recipe Review: (5 star) Paleo Crab Cakes

Paleo Crab CakesOMG – my mind is blown and life is changed.

Living in the midwest, it’s not always easy to get great seafood.  However, things that swim in the sea generally offer a lean source of protein, as well as other nutrients not found in land animals.  I want to eat them – but I want them to taste good too!  Enter canned, high quality crab meat from Trader Joe’s – in the refrigerated section.  When I was shopping and saw this, I thought – cool, it keeps forever, not too pricey and will help me get more fish in my diet.

One problem.  I don’t really know what to do with crab… I have eaten great crab cakes when I lived on the east coast but I don’t know how to make them.  Solution: Google.  Isn’t google the solution to everything?  It didn’t surprise me that the top hit was from Everyday Paleo.  Sarah’s recipes are tried and true – generally easy to follow.  So after a quick trip to the store to get more eggs (for the mayonnaise), I was cookin’.

The crab cakes themselves are easy to make.  What takes a while is the homemade mayonnaise – which is used in the cakes and for a sauce over top.  Add the oil slowly.  I mean SLOWLY.  It will work, but it requires patience.  I actually used a hand blender to make my mayo, and to keep the mixture from getting too hot, I use a metal bowl, which I put in the freezer for 5 minutes before I start making it.  Works for me!  Follow the links above and give it a try!

Sarah recommends using the mayo to make sauce for the cakes, which I did.  To half a cup of the mayo, I added an additional 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, then some dill, garlic and onion powder and black pepper.  It came out great and the balance of flavor was just right once I squeezed my lemon over the cakes.  As you can see, I served my cakes over some mixed green.

When I say I inhaled these crab cakes, I’m not exaggerating.  I ate 4 of them, with the sauce, in an embarrassingly short amount of time.  They were sooooo good.

4 thoughts on “Recipe Review: (5 star) Paleo Crab Cakes

Leave a Reply

