Blueberry Pie Protein Shake

I’m not a fan of protein shakes, but I keep whey protein in the house for times when I’m in a pinch… like when I’m running late, feeling too lazy to really cook, or my plans change and I don’t get to make that awesome dinner I had prepped for.  I’ll make  2 per week at most – I’d just rather be eating real, whole foods instead.  When I do make them, I like to experiment, and this is what I came up with last night!  I was aiming for something pie-inspired, and I think it came close to hitting the mark:

Blueberry Pie Protein Shake

3/4 cup fresh blueberries

1 scoop unflavored whey protein

2 tablespoons fine, unsweetened coconut

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

Combine all ingredients, blend until well mixed.  Enjoy!

… I’m wondering if I could freeze the mixture and make some kind of ice cream…. maybe next time 😉

Leave a Reply

