My New Goal: 30% in my 30th year

As I said in my last post, I am 1 lb away from a total 60 lb weight loss in 2013.  This represents a loss of 23.98% of my total body weight in 2013 – and there is still over 3 months to go in the year!

This was also the year I turned 30.  This number was one of the major reasons I wanted this year to be the year I made a major change; I wanted to be far happier in my 30’s than I was in my 20’s.

3’s seem to be in my life a lot lately, so when I discovered last week that if I can lose 17 lbs before the end of 2013, I will have lost 30% of my weight in my 30th year of life, I thought, well the symmetry in that is just too perfect!  So that is my new goal.  17 lbs, by the end of the year.

I know it won’t be easy.

The smaller you become, the slower the weight comes off.  And despite all my deviating this summer, I have renewed motivation to eat more cleanly, because I know that nutrition is the key to getting lbs off my body.  To any who reads this, I want to be clear about something: these 17 lbs are not about vanity. I am proud of my accomplishments, but I am still classed as ‘overweight’ according to the BMI scale.  Also, while working with my trainer, we have calculated that I still have nearly 60 lbs of fat on my body.  It would absolutely be healthy for me to lose this weight, so please do not think I’ve made this goal for reasons other than to improve my health.  Looking better in clothes and running faster is just an added bonus 🙂

What are your goals for the end of 2013?  What are you doing to accomplish them?  I would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “My New Goal: 30% in my 30th year

Leave a Reply

