8 month Paleo Update

Well, it’s been just over 8 months since I started this journey to change my life and myself.  While I did not stick with the blogging throughout the year (too busy focusing on other things), I have good news to report!  I am currently 1 lb away from a total 60 lb weight loss since January 3rd of 2013.

I will admit, I had some fun this summer and did deviate from the paleo lifestyle.  A meal here, a beer or 2 here, a meal there, which has meant that I lost almost no weight in July and August.  Did I feel as great as I did when I was following Paleo?  No.  Did I notice some stomach issues come back? Yes.  Did I have less energy? Yes.  Why then would I continue deviating?  Well, I’m human, and I like sushi and bread.  And that will never change.  I don’t feel any guilt about this; but I do know that I will be happier and feel physically better if I do not eat these foods often.  I don’t regret this period of maintenance.  July and August represent 2 major victories:

1) Although I deviated from Paleo, I managed to do so in moderation.  If I chose to have a more extravagant meal (like sushi dinner), I followed that up with veggies and protein the next day.  I never got into the mindset of ‘Well, I blew today, so I guess I might as well go crazy tomorrow too!’  That mindset is dangerous and I managed to avoid it.

2) I did not gain weight.  No yo-yo for me.  I weighed myself every 3-4 days to make sure I kept myself in check, and gave myself the freedom to be a little more relaxed with my choices, as long as I could maintain my weight loss.  I feel proud that I was able to do this as I have always had a very up/down relationship with the scale.

I have set a new goal for the end of the year and will update you all on that shortly!  I also plan to write more about my journey the closer we get to the new year, as so many friends have expressed an interest in know ‘how I did it.’  Now is a great time to start thinking about how you would like to change your life in 2014.  I thought for a long time about what need to change in my life last fall, and I know this personal reflection helped me to succeed.  You don’t have to wait for the new year to make a change, but give yourself time to work on your mind before you attempt to put your new habits into practice.

Leave a Reply

