Thought for Thursday

When the Japanese mend broken objects, they aggrandize the damage by filling the cracks with gold. They believe that when something’s suffered damage and has a history it becomes more beautiful.
—Barbara Bloom

We live in a disposable culture. Why try to fix something if you can just buy a new one?

Unfortunately, bodies do not work that way. You only get one. I remember a post in my old dance studio: a picture of an expressive, fit, and passionate woman moving through space, with the words, “The body is a dancer’s instrument.”

I’ll take that further. The body is every human’s instrument, that we use to play the story of our lives. And while they are not all creates equal, too many of us spend years acting as though we had the bad luck of getting an inferior product.

For too long, I have told myself that there are just certain things I cannot do. But that’s just not true. Just like when I was a kid and said I couldn’t play the piano, the truth is that I never discover my potential because I do not test it. I cannot do things because I never practice. At least, not physically.

For too long I have treated my body like it was broken and had limitations. I’ve just now begun to fix it. These things take time. But I’m focuses on Barbara Bloom’s idea – that when I have completed my work, my body and the soul that inhabits it will be more beautiful. Because the story it will tell, will be full of obstacles it ran under, over and through.

If you feel broken, I challenge you to have the courage to start the process of repair. And don’t be afraid; in the end you will be far more beautiful than if you had never been broken at all.

Leave a Reply

