Thought for Thursday

“We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”
– Carlos Castenada

Reflection:

I don’t think I’ve lost any weight this week, and my company’s weigh-in is tomorrow. Normally, this would mean I pig-out tonight, because what’s the point if it’s not working? I would worry about tomorrow morning, which would turn into worrying about next month because what if I keep doing all this work and I don’t lose any weight?

Truth… I have lost 15lbs in two weeks. Way more than what most people can do. My body is bound to take a break, my results are bound to vary. I need to continue doing what I’m doing, because one week of no weight loss does not negate all the success I’ve had. I do not need to worry about next week or next month, all I need to worry about is what I’m doing today: eating a healthy lunch, and working out after work. Those are the right things. The right things will bring me success.

Worry breeds misery. I don’t want to be miserable. I’m going to press on.

Right now, I have a rough idea of how I am going to lose the weight I want to lose. My plan will probably have to change before this is done. I will probably screw up at some point. I will probably get frustrated. But whatever – I have to keep going forward. All other options (giving up, staying depressed, using my weight as a scap-goat) are ones I don’t want to entertain.

Leave a Reply

