Neon Inspiration

20130122-224353.jpg

 

So says William Parish in Meet Joe Black. If this movie was before your time, I highly recommend a viewing. It is a slow moving, but beautifully written movie, with lots of gems about life in it. The first time I saw it, I was too young to appreciate it subtly. One of my best friends laughed so hard in the first five minutes (the car, you know what I’m talking about) we actually had to leave the theater to calm down. We were those teens that annoy me in theaters now…

But I digress. My point is this. Stay open, lightening could strike.

Many People (and by people, I mean me, and maybe you) are guilty of thinking that at a certain point life passes you by. It’s too late to sail around the world. Or learn to speak French. Go back to school. Start a family. Or lose the weight. But really, that notion – that dreams don’t happen because the clock has struck midnight in your life and you are being forced to run for the shadows minus one shoe – is entirely false. They don’t happen because we stand in our own way.

I thought about this last night as I watched Jillian Michael’s scream at one of the biggest loser contestants. (Monday night tradition with my best friend. This is the first season we aren’t eating junk food while watching.) She said of this particular contestant, “He’s smart, he’s good looking, he has a lot going for him. He could go far if he could just get out of his own way.” I’m paraphrasing but you get the point.

At a certain point, whether you are heavy or not, things don’t work out just as imagined, and it’s a very human temptation to form an internal monologue that starts with “I can’t”, “it’s over, “it’s too late.” I’ve fed myself those lines many, many times. They have gotten me nowhere that I am proud of.

But here’s the good news – it’s not over. If you’re reading this, you can breathe, so you’re alive, so it ain’t over.

So get out of your own way. Stop thinking you’re Cinderella and the clock is striking midnight. Whatever you want, go for it, especially of it’s big and crazy. Even if it doesn’t go according to plan (which it won’t), you will probably have some fun and learn something. And fill in the blank below, for yourself:

“To make the journey and not ___________________ … Well, you haven’t lived a life at all.

But you have to try, ‘cause if you haven’t tried, you haven’t lived.

Okay. Stay open.

Who knows?

Lightning could strike.”

 

 

(Photo taken outside my local health foods store)

Leave a Reply

